--- title: "Remove Duplicate People" slug: "remove-duplicate-people" tags: ["FrmRemoveDuplicatePeople"] updated: 2023-12-05T13:55:57Z published: 2023-12-05T13:55:57Z canonical: "www.procaresupport.com/remove-duplicate-people" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://www.procaresupport.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Remove Duplicate People If the same person is entered in the database multiple times you may use the Remove Duplicate People utility to merge the duplicates with the main person you wish to keep. This could happen if you mistakenly entered the person multiple times or through a conversion from version 9.1 to Procare v10. For example a person may have been entered in 9.1 as a Procare User, an employee, and a parent in Family Data. [Embedded content](https://www.youtube.com/embed/cl51JlXvpDQ) ## Getting There From the Procare *Home* screen click the *Utilities* menu, and choose *Remove Duplicate People*. ## Before You Begin [Make a Backup](/procare-desktop/docs/backup-restore-database), as a precaution, in the event you want to get back to the way things were beforehand. ## How to Remove Duplicate People At the *Remove Duplicate* People screen: a. Choose the *Primary Person*, that is, the person you want the others to merge in to. You can look them up by typing a few letters of their *Name* or *ID Number* (if any). Click once on their name to select them, then click the right arrow button (>) to place it on the *Primary Person* list (upper right). **Hint**: Use the left arrow button (<) to remove the Primary Person and select someone else as the primary instead. b. Select the person(s) you want to merge into the Primary Person. Click once on their name to select them, then click the right arrow button (>) to place them on the *Duplicate of Primary Person* list. Continue adding people as needed. **Note**: In most cases you’ll want a check in the box that says “Remove Person After Merge”. This will completely remove the extra person(s) from the database. **Hint**: Use the left arrow button (<) to remove a person from the list. c. Click *Process*, then *Exit*.